Software Upgrade Oct 25

You will not be able to access your account OCT 22-24 as we make necessary software upgrades.  This means you cannot place holds, renew items, or make changes to your account.  You should still be able to access digital materials.  Please contact us if you have any questions.

Databases

Limit by Subject
A B C D E F G H K L N P S T W
A to Z World Food Logo

A to Z World Food

With thousands of international recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, AtoZ World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba!

Visit resource website
Alt Health Watch Logo

AltHealth Watch

 

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.

Visit resource website
America's News

America's News

Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people, and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues, and more.  Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including Bossier Press-Tribune. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Visit resource website
Ancestry.com Logo

Ancestry.com

 

Whether you are just starting your family history or you are looking for a new perspective on your research, these guides will put you in the right frame of mind.  This database only available from within the library.

Visit resource website
Biography Reference Center Logo

Biography Reference Center

EBSCO's comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.

Visit resource website
Black Life in America

Black Life in America

Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources it includes over 400 current and historical Black publications. This is an easy-to-use online resource and is updated daily.

Visit resource website
Chilton Library

Chilton Library

Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs. Some of Chilton Library's more popular features include: Maintenance and specification tables that provide the unique data you need for each specific vehicle ; Step-by-step service and repair procedures, and labor estimating tool to help you confidently determine your next move.

Visit resource website
CINAHL Available via EBSCOhost Logo

CINAHL

 

CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,960 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.

Visit resource website
The Bossier Parish Library Historical Center Logo

Collections Database

 

Bossier Parish is located in Northwest Louisiana along the Red River. The Bossier Parish Library Historical Center acquires and preserves items of lasting value concerning Bossier Parish history and culture.  Search our in-house database of our archived collections.

Visit resource website
Creativebug Logo

Creativebug

 

Enjoy unlimited access to over 1000 online art and craft classes. Watch our classes anytime, anywhere. Since our classes never expire, you can start and stop projects at your own pace. No pressure, just possibilities!

Visit resource website
Driving Tests

Driving Tests

Not only do we feature OMV practice tests for motorcycle, car, and commercial vehicle permits and licenses, we also highlight a great deal of other pertinent information. Here you can find out things like what will be scored on your actual OMV driving test and more. There are so many resources here that you can’t get with just the official handbook, including a cheat sheet and step-by-step guide. It couldn’t be easier.

Visit resource website
EBSCOhost Logo

EBSCOhost

 

EBSCOhost offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. Available for desktop and mobile devices.

Visit resource website
Explora Logo

Explora Quick Search

 

Reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books in the EBSCO databases. Browse categories organized by popular topic, with overviews that provide a starting point for your research; or use the simple search that quickly delivers relevant results, including primary source documents, news articles, and Associated Press videos.

Visit resource website
Family Search Logo

Family Search

FamilySearch is a nonprofit family history organization dedicated to connecting families across generations. FamilySearch believes that families bring joy and meaning to life.  Learning about our ancestors helps us better understand who we are—creating a family bond, linking the present to the past, and building a bridge to the future.  Our vision is carried out by a dedicated team of employees and volunteers who work tirelessly to preserve and share the largest collection of genealogical and historical records in the world. 

Visit resource website
Gale Courses

Gale Courses

 

Gale Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online.   As a library card holder in good standing, you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.

Visit resource website
Gale Literature

Gale Literature

 

An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature. As Gale makes additional Literary Resources available through Gale Literature, and if your library has access to these products, they will be automatically added to the Gale Literature experience upon release.

Visit resource website
Heritage Quest Logo

Heritage Quest

 

Find ancestors in the complete set of U.S. Federal Census images from 1790-1940, including name indexes for many years.  Find information on people and places described in over 28,000 family and local histories.

Visit resource website
HeritageHub

HeritageHub

Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information, and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid-1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.

Visit resource website